Before I started the MMSY program, I was interning for National Dance Institute, a dance company that I danced with since I was nine until I was fourteen, when I graduated from the program. I was working in their office filing papers, updating address books and doing whatever was asked of me. If I wasn't at the office, I was at home doing summer assignments or spending time with my friends and going to my country house every weekend. It was an amazing experience to be able to know what it is like to work in an office building and to have to sit at a desk all day. I realized that I would never want to work behind a desk. Though it was a great experience, I couldn't wait to get out of the desk and start this program.

The tour of the United Nations helped us really understand what the UN does and learn about the different organizations that are a part of the UN. I learned what the UN does to protect a person's Human rights and the pressure that they put on a country to make sure that everyone has them. I like how they single the countries out to make a difference.

We attended a talk on Palestine where we studied about the history between Israel and Palestine, which I already knew from my history classes, but it was interesting to hear his input and the way that he explained the situation was different from the way that a history teacher would because the speaker explained it through a person from the United Nations point of view. I wanted to learn more about what they were doing to stop the conflict.