I am a student of Bronx Science High School and I am going to 11th grade this fall. During this summer, before the program, I was going to Yale twice a week, from Queens, using Metro north to meet with my mentor to do research on exoplanets. I had to return to Yale after the program ended as well.

I learned many new things from MMSY program and I am thankful that I had this opportunity. I did not know much about the UN before the program such as who was in charge or how it operated. I had never been in the UN before I came to this program. I learned how the general assembly worked. I also learned there was a separate security council and only select members from the general assembly were allowed to be part of it. I found out how the UN helps nations such as Rwanda, DR of Congo, Haiti, and other nations. I learned about the new methods they are using to stop child hunger and mortality, for example they sell nutrient enriched peanut butter to the poor at an extremely affordable cost.

They also help refugees by sending in kits with basic necessities such as shelter and tools for cooking meals. I also learned about the high profile meetings that go on in the UN that cover major topics such as gender equality, the development of youth for a better future, and the discrimination that the older generation faces as well as solutions to these problems. I was also lucky enough to be present in these meetings and to see what goes on first hand. I learned about the history of the UN as well. I also learned about Peace one day, a day dedicated to nonviolence, a day of world peace and its founder, Jeremy Gilley and the struggles he took to accomplish this goal.